About TRANSCAER®

The Transportation Community Awareness and Emergency Response initiative (TRANSCAER®) was started in Canada in 1985 by the Chemistry Industry Association of Canada (CIAC). Today, it’s led by CIAC and the Railway Association of Canada (RAC).

TRANSCAER® exists to make sure that communities are informed about the products being moved through their area by road and rail, and what measures are in place to ensure their safe transportation.

TRANSCAER® members work with municipal officials, emergency responders, and residents along transportation routes, to assist them in developing and evaluating their community emergency response plans. TRANSCAER® also hosts dozens of outreach events across Canada each year. Our Safety Training Tank Car – a classroom on wheels – helps to train fire fighters, police, and emergency medical personnel, so they are better prepared in the event of a transportation incident involving dangerous goods.

CIAC and the RAC also partner with other associations in Canada and the U.S. – those representing manufacturers, distributors, transportation companies, and emergency responders – to ensure that transportation safety best practices are shared, and that consistent, state-of-the-art training and emergency preparedness activities are carried out across North America.

À propos du TRANSCAER®

L’initiative de sensibilisation de la collectivité et d’intervention d’urgence en matière de transport (TRANSCAER®) a été lancée au Canada en 1985 par l’Association canadienne de l’industrie de la chimie (ACIC). Elle est dirigée aujourd’hui par l’ACIC et l’Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC).

Le TRANSCAER® vise à assurer que les collectivités sont informées des produits qui sont transportés dans leur région par camion et par train, et des mesures qui sont en place pour assurer un transport sécuritaire.

Les membres du TRANSCAER® collaborent avec les dirigeants municipaux, les intervenants d’urgence et les résidents des collectivités situées le long des itinéraires de transport afin de les aider à élaborer et à évaluer leurs plans d’intervention d’urgence. De plus, des dizaines d’événements de liaison au titre du TRANSCAER® sont tenus, partout au Canada, chaque année. Notre Wagon-École sur la sécurité  – une salle de classe sur roues – aide à former les pompiers, les policiers et le personnel médical d’urgence pour qu’ils soient prêts en cas d’incident de transport impliquant des marchandises dangereuses.

De plus, l’ACIC et l’ACFC forment des partenariats avec d’autres associations au Canada et aux États-Unis – représentant des manufacturiers, des distributeurs, des entreprises de transport et des intervenants d’urgence – pour assurer que les meilleures pratiques de transport sont partagées et que des activités de formation et de préparation d’urgence cohérentes et de pointe sont réalisées partout en Amérique du Nord.